RAND Institute for Civil Justice Board of Overseers

The Board of Overseers plays a crucial, active role in the life of the ICJ. Composed of a balanced group of plaintiffs' lawyers, defense lawyers, judicial officers, insurers, representatives from other industries and from consumer and labor groups, it advises the staff on the development of new research projects, consults researchers on issues of impartiality and autonomy in reporting results, and helps to build support for the Institute and its mission.

Board members include senior corporate officials and general counsels, senior partners of major law firms, consumer and labor organization executives, senior members of the judiciary and leading academic scholars.

List updated July 2014

Robert S. Peck (Chair)


Center for Constitutional Litigation

Dan C. Dunmoyer (Vice Chair)

Head of Government and Industry Affairs, USA

Farmers Group Inc.

Richard E. Anderson

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

The Doctors Company

Theodor Bachmann

Managing Director and Head of Key Case Management

Swiss Reinsurance Company Ltd

S. Jack Balagia, Jr.

Vice President and General Counsel

ExxonMobil Corporation

Brad D. Brian


Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP

James L. Brown

Former Director

Center for Consumer Affairs, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Kim M. Brunner

Former Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer, and Secretary

State Farm Insurance

Robert A. Clifford


Clifford Law Offices, P.C.

Christine M. Durham


Utah Supreme Court

Kenneth R. Feinberg

Founder and Managing Partner

Feinberg Rozen, LLP


RAND Corporation

Deborah E. Greenspan


Dickstein Shapiro LLP

Patrick E. Higginbotham

Circuit Judge

U.S. Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit

James F. Kelleher

Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer

Liberty Mutual Insurance Company

Carolyn B. Kuhl

Presiding Judge

Los Angeles Superior Court

Susan L. Lees

Executive Vice President and General Counsel

Allstate Corporation

Charles Lifland


O'Melveny & Myers LLP

Consuelo B. Marshall

District Judge

U.S. District Court, Central District of California

Michael G. Mills


Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP

Kenneth J. Paradis

Chairman of the Board

Ametros Financial, Inc.

Michael Parini

Senior Vice President, Chief Litigation Counsel

Pfizer Inc.

Kathleen Flynn Peterson


Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi LLP

Andrew J. Pinkes

Executive Vice President, Global Head of Claims

XL Group

Paul M. Pohl


Jones Day

Arturo Raschbaum

Chief Executive Officer

Maiden Re

Anne E. Rea


Sidley Austin LLP

Paul D. Rheingold


Rheingold, Valet, Rheingold, McCartney & Giuffra LLP

Dino E. Robusto

Executive Vice President and
President, Commercial and Specialty Lines

The Chubb Corporation

Teresa Wynn Roseborough

Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary

The Home Depot

Lee H. Rosenthal

District Judge

U.S. District Court, Southern District of Texas, Houston Division

John F. Schultz

Executive Vice President and General Counsel

Hewlett-Packard Company

Hemant H. Shah

President and Chief Executive Officer

Risk Management Solutions, Inc.

Mary-Christine ("M.C.") Sungaila


Snell & Wilmer

John R. Tunheim

District Judge

U.S. District Court, District of Minnesota

Georgene M. Vairo

Professor of Law and David P. Leonard Chair

Loyola Law School

Dennis P. Wallace

Senior Managing Director, Head of Claims Innovations

American International Group, Inc.

Lynne M. Yowell

Vice President, Secretary and Counsel

State Farm Insurance