Central Asia


The five former Soviet republics that constitute Central Asia—Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan—are ethnically, politically, and economically diverse countries with rich histories. Together and separately, they face and pose a range of challenges and opportunities as they define their relationships with neighbors such as China, Russia, and Afghanistan and partner countries in Europe, Asia, and the Americas. RAND research has explored important aspects of regional policy, including its economic development, security environment, human rights practices, and political stability.

  • shanghai_Fotolia_48550633_Subscription_Monthly_M


    The RAND Center for Asia Pacific Policy

    Feb 8, 2010

    The RAND Center for Asia Pacific Policy (CAPP) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, multidisciplinary research center within RAND. CAPP's mission is to improve policy by providing decision-makers and the public with rigorous, objective, cutting-edge research on critical policy challenges facing Asia and U.S.-Asia relations.

Explore Central Asia