What Your Gifts Support: Lectureships

Haskins Lecture on Science Policy

The Haskins Lecture on Science Policy was established through the generosity of Caryl P. and Edna Haskins, founders of Haskins Laboratories. The Haskins were dedicated to improving the nation's understanding of the relationship between scientific progress and sound public policy. Caryl Haskins was a member of the RAND Board of Trustees for 20 years and served as an advisory trustee and member of the President's Council.

Haskins Laureates

2018 — Mae C. Jemison, M.D.
NASA Astronaut; Principal, 100 Year Starship
on how pursuing an extraordinary tomorrow creates a better world today

2014 — Arati Prabhakar
Director, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)
on breakthrough technologies for national security

2012 — Subra Suresh
Director, National Science Foundation
on research, education, and globalization

2010 — Shirley M. Tilghman
President, Princeton University
on federal science funding in the United States

2008 — Ralph J. Cicerone
President, National Academy of Sciences
on climate change and energy needs

2005 — Stephen Lewis
Special Envoy of the Secretary-General For HIV/AIDS in Africa, United Nations; Commissioner, Commission on Social Determinants of Health, World Health Organization; Former Canadian Ambassador to the United Nations
on the AIDS pandemic

2002 — Anthony S. Fauci, M.D.
Director, National Institute of Allergy And Infectious Diseases and Chief, Laboratory of Immunoregulation
on bioterrorism

2000 — Jared M. Diamond
Professor of Physiology, University of California, Los Angeles
on why human history unfolded differently on different continents for the last 13,000 years

2000 — Robert B. Shapiro
Chairman, Pharmacia Corporation and Former Chairman and CEO, Monsanto Company
on biotechnology

1998 — James D. Watson
President, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
on genetics research, public policy, and ethics

1995 — Leon M. Lederman
Director Emeritus, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and Pritzker Professor of Science, Illinois Institute of Technology
on the history of science policy, and explaining science to the public and to government policymakers

Albert P. Williams Lecture on Health Policy

Al Williams (1935–2000) was a distinguished researcher and leader of the RAND Health program. Over a long career, he demonstrated the objectivity, rigor, and dedication to the public good that are central values of RAND. He helped make RAND Health the world's foremost source of research and analysis on how health services are used, delivered, and financed. The Albert P. Williams Memorial Health Lecture Series was established through the generosity of Williams' friends and former colleagues to commemorate his legacy. Today, the Williams Lecture provides a forum for leading voices in health policy to share cutting-edge ideas and insights, giving ongoing life to Williams's commitment to improving health and health care for all of us.

Williams Laureates

2018 — Ezekiel J. Emanuel
Vice Provost for Global Initiatives, Diane v.S. Levy and Robert M. Levy University Professor, and Chair of the Department of Medical Ethics and Health Policy, University of Pennsylvania

2016 — Joseph P. Newhouse
John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy and Management, Harvard University

2014 — Leonard D. Schaeffer
Former Chairman and CEO, WellPoint

2011 — David M. Lawrence
Past CEO and Chairman, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals

2009 — Karen Hein
Past President, William T. Grant Foundation

2008 — Martin Roland
Director of the United Kingdom's National Primary Care Research and Development Centre

2006 — Paul O'Neill
Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury

2004 — Mark McClellan
Director, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

2003 — Gail L. Warden
President and CEO, Henry Ford Health System

2002 — Joseph P. Newhouse
John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy and Management, Harvard University