Advisory Committee and Funders for the RAND COMPARE Project

To ensure from the outset that COMPARE considered a wide range of perspectives and expertise, we recruited a distinguished Strategic Policy Advisory Committee (shown below) that has met three times a year since mid-2005. The committee provides one part of COMPARE’s peer review process that ensures the work is consistent with RAND’s core values of quality and objectivity.

Gail Warden *
President Emeritus, Henry Ford Health System (cochair)

Leonard Schaeffer *
Senior Advisor, TPG Capital, LP (cochair)

Rich Bagger
Senior Vice President, Worldwide Public Affairs & Policy, Pfizer, Inc.

Stuart Butler
Vice President, Domestic & Economic Policy Studies, The Heritage Foundation

Christine Cassel
President, American Board of Internal Medicine

Sylvia Drew Ivie
Founder, South Los Angeles Community Kitchen

James Gavin
Clinical Professor of Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine

Allan Gilmour
Former Vice Chairman, Ford Motor Company; Former Chairman, Henry Ford Health System

Frederick Gluck *
Former Managing Director, McKinsey & Company, Inc.

Linda Griego  
President and Chief Executive Officer, Griego Enterprises, Inc.

Suzanne Nora Johnson *
Senior Director/Former Vice Chairman, Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.

David Lawrence
Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals

Charles N. Martin Jr. *
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Vanguard Health Systems; Trustee, RAND Corporation

Mary Mundinger  
Dean and Centennial Professor in Health Policy, Columbia School of Nursing

Joseph Newhouse 
John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy and Management, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Paul O’Neill *
Former Secretary of the Treasury; Trustee, RAND Corporation

Judy Pelham
President Emeritus, Trinity Health

Lois Quam
Founder & CEO, Tysvar LLC

William C. Richardson  
Former President and Chief Executive Officer, The W. K. Kellogg Foundation

William L. Roper  
Chief Executive Officer, University of North Carolina Health Care System

John J. Rydzewski*
Managing Director, Christofferson, Robb & Company

Dana Safran
Vice President, Performance Management & Improvement, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Kevin Sharer
Chief Executive Officer, President, and Chairman of the Board, Amgen, Inc.

Reed Tuckson 
Executive Vice President and Chief of Medical Affairs, UnitedHealth Group

William C. Weldon
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Johnson & Johnson

* Member, RAND Health Board of Advisors

Who Funds COMPARE?

COMPARE is funded by a broad range of individuals, corporations, corporate foundations, philanthropic foundations, and health system stakeholders. To date, funders include the following:

  • AARP
  • Abraxis BioScience, Patrick Soon-Shiong MD, Founder, Chairman, and CEO
  • Aetna Foundation
  • Alcoa
  • Amgen Foundation
  • Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts
  • Business Roundtable
  • California HealthCare Foundation
  • The Commonwealth Fund
  • The Council of State Governments
  • The Funari Family Foundation
  • General Motors Foundation
  • Johnson & Johnson
  • Karen Katen
  • Charles N. Martin Jr., The Martin Foundation
  • Pacific Business Group on Health
  • Pfizer
  • RAND Corporate Endowment
  • RAND Health Board, designated gifts from individual members
  • Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • John J. Rydzewski
  • Leonard D. Schaeffer
  • The Suzanne Nora Johnson and David G. Johnson Foundation
  • The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
  • The U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration
  • United Health Foundation
  • Wellpoint Foundation