RAND Institute for Civil Justice Board of Overseers

The Board of Overseers plays a crucial, active role in the life of the ICJ. Composed of a balanced group of plaintiffs' lawyers, defense lawyers, judicial officers, insurers, representatives from other industries and from consumer and labor groups, it advises the staff on the development of new research projects, consults researchers on issues of impartiality and autonomy in reporting results, and helps to build support for the Institute and its mission.

Board members include senior corporate officials and general counsels, senior partners of major law firms, consumer and labor organization executives, senior members of the judiciary and leading academic scholars.

List updated October 2018

Dan C. Dunmoyer (Chair)

President and CEO

California Building Industry Association

Mary-Christine ("M.C.") Sungaila (Vice Chair)


Haynes and Boone, LLP

Richard E. Anderson

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

The Doctors Company

Theodor Bachmann

Managing Director, Head P&C Underwriting Centre

Swiss Reinsurance Company Ltd.

Christopher Bogart

Chief Executive Officer

Burford Capital

James L. Brown

Former Director

Center for Consumer Affairs, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Robert A. Clifford

Founder and Senior Partner

Clifford Law Offices, P.C.

Christine M. Durham

Former Justice

Utah Supreme Court

Randall M. Ebner

Vice President and General Counsel

Exxon Mobil Corporation

Kenneth R. Feinberg

Founder and Managing Partner

The Law Offices of Kenneth R. Feinberg, PC


RAND Corporation

Deborah E. Greenspan


Blank Rome LLP

Deborah R. Hensler

Judge John W. Ford Professor of Dispute Resolution;
Associate Dean for Graduate Studies; Co-Director of Law and Policy Lab;

Stanford Law School

Patrick E. Higginbotham

Senior Circuit Judge

U.S. Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit

Brent Hoffman

Global Head of Claims, Senior Vice President

XL Catlin

James F. Kelleher

Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer

Liberty Mutual Insurance Company

Eric S. Kobrick

Vice President, Deputy General Counsel and General Counsel – Insurance

American International Group, Inc.

Carolyn B. Kuhl


Los Angeles County Superior Court

Susan L. Lees

Executive Vice President, General Counsel, and Secretary

Allstate Insurance Company

Charles Lifland


O'Melveny & Myers LLP

Chris Lovrien

Partner-in-Charge, California Region

Jones Day

Consuelo B. Marshall

District Judge

U.S. District Court, Central District of California

Lawrence F. Metz

President and Chief Executive Officer

Maiden Holdings, Ltd.

Michael G. Mills

Managing Partner

Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP

Michael R. Nelson


Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP

Robert S. Peck


Center for Constitutional Litigation, PC

Andrew J. Pinkes

Executive Vice President, Worldwide Property & Casualty Claim

CNA Insurance

Arturo Raschbaum

Chief Executive Officer

Maiden Holdings, Ltd.

Paul D. Rheingold

Of Counsel

Rheingold, Giuffra, Ruffo & Plotkin LLP

Teresa Wynn Roseborough

Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary

The Home Depot, Inc.

Yona Rozen

Associate General Counsel


Hemant H. Shah

Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer

Risk Management Solutions, Inc.

Christine Spagnoli


Greene, Broillet & Wheeler, LLP

Larry Tawwater


Tawwater Law Firm, P.L.L.C.

John R. Tunheim

Chief Judge

U.S. District Court, District of Minnesota

Georgene M. Vairo

David P. Leonard Professor of Law Emerita

Loyola Law School

Dennis P. Wallace


Ahmuty, Demers & McManus

Neal Wolin

Chief Executive Officer

Brunswick Group LLP;

Independent Consultant;

Former Deputy Secretary

U.S. Department of the Treasury

Joan Woodward

Executive Vice President for Public Policy

The Travelers Companies, Inc.

Lynne M. Yowell

Vice President, Secretary and Counsel

State Farm Insurance