Pardee RAND Graduate School Awards Scholarships Funded by Rumsfeld

For Release

May 3, 2007

The Pardee RAND Graduate School announced today that it has awarded the first Andrew Marshall Scholarship, funded by a $150,000 endowment donated by former U.S. Secretary of Defense Donald H. Rumsfeld.

Rumsfeld, former chairman of the RAND Board of Trustees, also donated $150,000 to endow the Newton M. Minow scholarship at the graduate school, which has been awarded annually since 2001.

The Pardee RAND Graduate School offers a Ph.D. in policy analysis and is part of the RAND Corporation, a nonprofit research organization based in Santa Monica, Calif. In addition to their studies, PRGS fellows must complete at least 400 days of work on policy research projects, called on-the-job-training, which ensures that graduates have been exposed to a wide variety of policy areas, research methods and clients.

Christopher Sharon is the recipient of the Marshall Scholarship, which will cover part of his tuition during his first year at PRGS. Sharon earned his bachelor's degree in 2006 from Samford University in Birmingham, Ala. Since graduation, he has been teaching English and conducting ethnographic research in Myanmar.

Russell Lundberg was earlier awarded the Newton M. Minow Scholarship for 2007. Lundberg earned his master of public policy degree at the University of Maryland in 2000, and previously earned a bachelor's degree in 1996 at Hope College in Holland, Mich. He is currently an inspector with Department of Homeland Security's Office of the Inspector General.

Rumsfeld was secretary of defense under Presidents Gerald R. Ford and George W. Bush. He was chairman of the RAND Board of Trustees from 1981 to 1986 and from 1995 to 1996. He remained a member of the Board of Trustees until January 2001.

“Thanks to Don Rumsfeld's generosity, the Marshall and Minow scholarships will help produce policy analysts who will find solutions years from now to some of the greatest challenges facing future generations,” said RAND President and CEO James A. Thomson.

The new scholarship is named for Andrew Marshall, a former RAND researcher who since 1973 has been director of the U.S. Department of Defense Office of Net Assessment, which acts as an internal think tank. The Newton M. Minow Scholarship is named in honor of the former head of the Federal Communications Commission under President John F. Kennedy, who was a member of the RAND Board of Trustees for more than 30 years.

“I am honored that Donald Rumsfeld thought to do this,” said Marshall, who has known Rumsfeld for decades. “I'm proud to be associated with a RAND scholarship that will help some of the best and brightest young minds prepare for a career in public service.”

“PRGS students want to do more with their education, they want to change the world,” said John D. Graham, dean of PRGS. “We have the nation's largest Ph.D. program in policy analysis, and our students are taught to see beyond the limitations of any one particular discipline.”

About the RAND Corporation

The RAND Corporation is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous.