Haskins Lecture on Science Policy

The Haskins Lectureship on Science Policy was established through the generosity of Caryl P. and Edna Haskins, founders of Haskins Laboratories. The Haskins were dedicated to improving the nation's understanding of the relationship between scientific progress and sound public policy. Caryl Haskins was a member of RAND's Board of Trustees for twenty years and served as an advisory trustee and member of the President's Council. Subra Suresh, director of the National Science Foundation, is the ninth Haskins laureate. He spoke at RAND on May 17, 2012.

About the Speaker

Subra Suresh, Director, National Science Foundation
A distinguished engineer and professor, Subra Suresh was nominated by President Barack Obama and unanimously confirmed by the U.S. Senate as director of the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2010. As director of this $7 billion independent federal agency, he leads the only government science agency charged with advancing all fields of fundamental science and engineering research and related education. NSF's programs and initiatives keep the United States at the forefront of science and engineering, empower future generations of scientists and engineers, and foster economic growth and innovation.